• Interpretable Augmented Intelligence for Multiscale Material Design – Workshop and Kickoff Meeting at OSU Oct 25/26
  • Cyberloop for Accelerated Bionanomaterials Design – Workshop and Kickoff Meeting at CU Oct 16/17
  • Juan (Luis) has now become a Professor at Dalian Maritime University – and we are missing her already (August)
  • Congratulations to Amanda’s successful PhD defense (June)
  • Michael’s work in collaboration with John Miao (UCLA) on monitoring nucleation and growth in 4D is published in Nature (June)
  • Congratulations to Amanda for her first author paper on metal ion adsorption and substitution in hydroxyapatite in Journal of Physical Chemistry C – and the upcoming journal cover!
  • Spring ACS meeting in Orlando – Polymer interphases symposium (PMSE)polymer_interphases_dinner
    (left to right: Peter Coveney, UCL; Luke Henderson, Deakin U; Sinan Keten, Northwestern U; Young Jong Kang, Hanyang U; Ahmed Ghobadi, P&G; Hilmar Koerner, AFRL; Russell Varley, Deakin U; Reinhold Dauskardt, Stanford U; Richard Vaia, AFRL; Jodie Lutkenhaus, Texas A&M U; Sameer Rahatekar, Cranfield U; Dhriti Nepal, AFRL; Catherin Brinson, Duke U; Hendrik Heinz, U Colorado, Michael Bockstaller, CMU)
  • Aerospace polymers symposium (POLY)aerospace_polymers_symposium_dinner
    (left to right: Witold Fuchs, USM; Luke Henderson, Deakin U; Jared Bates, USM; Hendrik Heinz, U Colorado; Gregory Odegard, Michigan Tech; Triet Nguyen-Beck, AFRL; Rajiv Berry, AFRL; Vikas Varshney, AFRL (back); Carla Reynolds, Boeing (middle); Sameer Rahatekar, Cranfield U (front); Dhriti Nepal, AFRL; Jeffrey Wiggins, USM (back); Michael Van Tooren, U South Carolina; Russell Varley, Deakin U; Debra Barnhardt, U Queensland (back); Andrea Browning, Schrodinger (middle); Virginia Davis, AUburn U (front); Peter Coveney, UCL; Theo Dingemans, UNC; Kenneth Caster, AFOSR)
  • Multiscale modeling panel (POLY)multiscale_modeling_panel


  • Juan’s work with Yu Huang and Jim De Yoreo on peptide nucleation on MoS2 is published in Science (December)
  • Hendrik receives CU Outstanding Mentor Award (with Juan Liu and Ryan Reeves)
    2018_hendrik_and_juan_mentor_award_1.jpg DSC01192_with_ryan_reeves
  • Congratulations to Tariq Jamil for his successful PhD defense! (August)
  • Group dinner downtown
    group_photo_20180427_2 group_photo_20180427_3
    (left to right: Amanda Garley, Lesli Mark, Juan Liu, Shiyi Wang, Samuel Hoff, Michael Nathanson, Joe Manning, Tariq Jamil, Krishan Kanhaiya, Hendrik Heinz, Mahdi Tavakol)
  • Welcome Joe Manning, visiting PhD student from University of Sheffield (UK) with an RSC research mobility grant
  • Yu Huang (UCLA), John Miao (UCLA), and Hendrik Heinz (team-lead) receive a Special Creativity Award from the National Science Foundation for outstanding progress in the Materials Genome Initiative (February)
  • Welcome Mahdi Tavakol, visiting PhD student and National Talent Scholar (January)
  • Invited seminar on multiscale modeling and mechanics of building materials at ETH Zurich (January)
  • Heinz team and Marialore Sulpizi (U Mainz) introduce the first polarizable and compatible model for metals (Nat. Comm.) (January)


  • Chandrani and Jake quantify CNT dispersion in solvents and polymer solutions (ACS Nano), Tg and shear strength of carbon nanotube/PAN composites (ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces) (December)
  • Invited talks in Singapore – A*Star, NTU, and NUS (November)
  • New $15m NASA Institute “US-COMP: Institute for Ultrastrong Composites by Computational Design” kicks off – our team will contribute to materials design for the Mars mission (October)
  • Ratan, Tariq, and friends publish the first cement force field database and receive multiple press releases (October)
  • Congratulations to Lesli Mark for receiving a GAANN fellowship (September)
  • Welcome to visiting PhD student Peiying Li from Tokyo Institute of Technology (Yuhei Hayamizu’s lab) (July-October)
  • Workshop lectures (AIPEA school for young scientists) and keynote talk on simulation of clay materials at the 16th ICC in Granada, Spain (July)
  • Plenary talk at Int. Conf. on Emerging Areas in Materials Engineering, Kerala, India (July)
  • Invited talks on Interface MD at CECAM workshop on bionano interfaces and at the Fritz-Haber Institute Berlin, Germany (June)
  • Krishan Kanhaiya delivers invited talk at ACS Green Chemistry conference
  • Keynote talk at Bilkent University’s Nanoday 2017 (May)
  • Key presentations on novel modeling of cement materials at SCS Freiburger Symposium (Fribourg, Switzerland) and Nanocem (Les Diablerets, Switzerland, May)
  • Several invited talks at TMS, Lonza AG, ACS, IEEE  (February, March)
  • Welcome to visiting PhD student Thomas Underwood from U Durham (Chris Greenwell’s lab) (January-February)


  • Lecture and tutorial on the Interface MD platform at the CECAM school on soft matter in Mainz, Germany (October)
  • Welcome to new PhD students Sam Hoff and Michael Nathanson (October)
  • Hendrik elected as Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry, mentioned in The Times (London), Oct 20, Issue
  • Plenary talk at the Swiss Chemical Society’s Annual Meeting for the 2016 Sandmeyer Award (September)
  • Plenary talk at the 5th Mediterranean Clay Meeting (September)
  • Prof. Yuhei Hayamizu from Tokyo Tech visits our lab to explore undergraduate/graduate student exchanges (August)
  • Dr. Tzu-Jen Lin, Heinz group PhD alumnus (2013) appointed Assistant Professor at Chung Yuan Christian University, Taiwan, starting August 1, 2016
  • Christopher Kirby works at the research center for biomaterials, CICBiomagune, in San Sebastian, Spain, as part of our NSF-EU project on nanomaterials safety (June-August)
  • Tariq Jamil earned the “Best Poster” award at the 5th World Congress on Materials Science & Engineering, held June 13-15 in Alicante, Spain
  • Welcome to new postdoc Dr. Juan Liu
  • Jacob Gissinger serves as an intern at NASA Langley Research Center (June-August)
  • Welcome to new postdocs Drs. Chamila Dharmawardhana, Nada Mehio, and Juan Liu (March-July)
  • Invited review on simulations of inorganic-(bio)organic interfaces for materials discovery appears in Chemical Society Reviews, Special Issue on Bioinspired Surfaces and Materials (January)

News Archive

Past memories .. Heinz group in 2009SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA
(left to right: Ratan Mishra, Yao-Tsung Fu, Jie Feng, Hendrik Heinz, Kshitij Jha, Rajiv Berry, Fateme Emami, Hua Liu)


Societies, Conferences and Workshops