People

Principal Investigator 
 Heinz 099

hj

Dr. Hendrik Heinz, Associate Professor – Bio
Ph.D. ETH Zurich 2003

Office: BIOT Rm. D315
Phone: 303-735-7517
Fax: 303-492-8425
Email: hendrik.heinz@colorado.edu

 Postdocs
Juan Liu  

Dr. Juan “Luis” Liu, Post-Doc
Ph.D. Soochow U, China
Bioinspired assembly and catalysis

Office: BIOT Rm. D111
Email: juan.liu@colorado.edu

p_4 Dr. Chandrani Pramanik, Post-Doc
Google Scholar Profile
Ph.D. U of New Hampshire
Carbon nanofibers and apatite/protein compositesOffice: BIOT Rm. D111
Email: chandrani.pramanik@colorado.edu
Ph.D. Students
 p_5.png Amanda Garley, Ph.D. Student
B.S. Materials Engineering, Purdue University
Graphene-based bioinspired hybrid materialsOffice: BIOT Rm. B120
Email: amanda.garley@colorado.edu
 p_6 Jake Gissinger, Ph.D. Student
B. S. Chem. Eng. & Materials Science, U Pennsylvania
Carbon nanofiber compositesOffice: BIOT Rm. D111
Email: jacob.gissinger@colorado.edu
 p_7.png Tariq Jamil, Ph.D. Student
M. Eng., NED University of Engineering and Technology
Molecularly designed construction materialsOffice: BIOT Rm. D111
Email: tariq.jamil@colorado.edu
 p_8 Krishan Kanhaiya, Ph.D. Student
B. Tech. Chemical Engineering, IIT, India
Corrosion in 4D and bioengineered nanostructures for catalysisOffice: BIOT Rm. D111
Email: krishan.kanhaiya@colorado.edu
 p_9 Lesli Mark, Ph.D. Student
B. S. Chemical & Biological Engineering, U Notre Dame
Catalyst design for thiol SAMsOffice: BIOT Rm. D111
Email: lesli.mark@colorado.edu
 p_10 Amanda Garley, Ph.D. Student
B.S. Materials Engineering, Purdue University
Graphene-based bioinspired hybrid materialsOffice: BIOT Rm. B120
Email: amanda.garley@colorado.edu
Samuel Hoff, Ph.D. Student
B.S. Chemical Engineering, U Missouri
Biomineralization and bionanomaterialsOffice: BIOT Rm. D111
Email: samuel.hoff@colorado.edu
Michael Nathanson, Ph.D. Student
B. S. Chemical Engineering, U Alabama
Aqueous corrosion and catalysisOffice: BIOT Rm. D111
Email: michael.nathanson@colorado.edu
Visiting Scientists and Guests
 p_11 Dr. Ratan K. Mishra
ETH Zurich (Ph.D. U of Akron 2012)
Polymer interactions with minerals in construction materialsEmail: rkmishra@ifb.baug.ethz.ch
Prof. Ronald F. Ziolo
Google Scholar Profile
Centro de Investigación en Química Aplicada (CIQA), Mexico
Biological fate of engineered nanomaterialsEmail: rziolo@cs.com
Undergraduate Students
Adam Cronce

Darice Guittet

Former Members and Guests
  • Mr. Thomas Underwood (Visiting PhD student, 2017), UNiversity of Durham
  • Dr. Chamila Dharmawardhana (Postdoc, 2016-2017), Georgetown University
  • Mr. Christopher Kirby (Undergraduate student, summer 2016), Rochester Inst Tech
  • Dr. Nada Mehio (Postdoc, 2016), Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Dr. Nabanita Saikia (Postdoc 2015-2016), Michigan Tech U
  • Dr. Ali Javadi (PhD student 2013-2015), U Akron
  • Dr. Hadi Ramezani-Dakhel (PhD Student 2011-2015), U Chicago
  • Dr. Sanket Deshmukh (Research Asst Prof 2015), U North Carolina
  • Dr. Rajiv Berry (Visiting Scientist 2008-2015), AFRL
  • Mr. Masoud Sobani (PhD student 2014-2015), U Akron
  • Dr. Donald R. Wiff (Visiting Scientist 2010-2015), Western Reserve Micro-and Nano Systems
  • Dr. Han-Xue Hou (Visiting Professor 2014), Shandong Agricultural University, PR China
  • Dr. Fateme Sadat Emami (PhD student 2008-2013), Northwestern U
  • Mr. Mingzhe Li (PhD student 2012-2013), U Akron
  • Dr. Tzu-Jen Lin (PhD student 2010-2013), National Taiwan U
  • Dr. Hua Liu (PhD student 2007-2013), Shanghai
  • Dr. Ratan K. Mishra (PhD student 2007-2012), ETH Zurich
  • Dr. Kshitij Jha (PhD student 2006-2012), U Akron
  • Dr. Amir Vahid (Visiting PhD student 2008-2012), Northwestern U
  • Mr. Sung-Jun Kim (PhD student 2011-2012), U Akron
  • Dr. Yao-Tsung Fu (PhD student 2006-2011), Georgia Tech
  • Dr. Jie Feng (Post-doc 2007-2010), Natl Energy Technology Laboratory
  • Dr. Jian-jie Liang (Sabbatical, 2008), Accelrys, Inc.
  • Mr. Gregory D. Zartman (Undergraduate, 2007-2008), Goodyear
  • Mr. John Repasky (Undergraduate, 2008), Sony DADC
  • Dr. Pratyush Dayal (Visiting scientist, 2007), IIT Gandhinagar, India
  • Dr. Siddarth V. Patwardhan (Visiting Scientist, 2007), U Sheffield, UK